If you have been caught driving without insurance in Indiana, expect a stiff penalty. Penalties for driving without insurance in Indiana can be very serious. The seriousness surrounding this violation has increased over time and can cost thousands of dollars and end with your car impounded. So that brings us to the next question. In Indiana, does your license get suspended for driving with no insurance?
The fines and penalties for driving without insurance in Indiana
Indiana has taken the hard stance if you are caught driving without auto insurance in place. If you are caught driving without proof of responsibility for the first time, will result in your driving privileges being suspended. The first offense for driving without insurance in Indiana is a 90-day driver's license suspension, with the requirement of carrying an SR-22 Certificate for three years.
The second offense results in a $500 fine and a one-year license suspension and the requirement to carry an SR-22 for three years. And the third and any subsequent offenses for non-compliance will result in a $1000 reinstatement fee, a license suspension for one year, and an SR-22 requirement for five years.
The suspension of your license will not end until the required amount of time has passed. However, there are instances when a hardship license can be given. Give us a call at Hayes Law Office today.
AnSR-22 is a document, on file with your state, proving you have car insurance that meets the minimum insurance required by law. Also known as a “Certificate of Financial Responsibility,” “SR-22 Bond,” or “SR-22 Form,” an SR-22 isn’t a “type” of insurance, but rather a filing that is normally handled by your insurer once an insurance policy is in force.
Remember, uninsured drivers can become subject to losing their license at any time if you are caught without driving with insurance in Indiana.
What is the minimum state liability insurance coverage in Indiana?
According to the Indiana Department of Insurance website, the minimum amount of Indiana auto insurance coverage is $25,000/$50,000/$10,000. In the event of a covered accident, your limits for bodily injury are$25,000per person, with a total maximum of $50,000per incident. A minimum amount of coverage for damage to another person’s property is $10,000. The minimum required insurance coverage for uninsured motorists, is a minimum of $10,000per accident.
Is driving without insurance a felony?
As of September 2010, driving without proof of insurance is not a felony in any state. To be clear, in some states, driving while uninsured is considered a misdemeanor offense, and can potentially lead to a prison sentence. Jail time will most likely not be imposed for a first offense unless you cause a serious accident. But repeat offenses will incur higher fines and stiffer punishments, possibly up to and including jail. Of course, driving with a suspended license in Indiana is an act that could land you in jail.
The bottom line for driving without insurance in Indiana
If you are caught driving uninsured you are facing a suspended license at a minimum. Call us at Hayes Law Office at 317-759-1515 today, let us be your advocate.