Gun

5 Gun Laws and Rights in Indiana You Should Know About

Indiana Gun Laws

If you live in the state of Indiana, it is important to know the state’s gun laws before thinking about purchasing any type of firearm. Going against any of these laws can result in a felony or bigger charges that could impact your life and family lives. Here are the top 5 gun laws that you should know if you looking to purchase or be a potential gun owner in the state of Indiana. 

Having Gun Permits and Registration 

In some states, you must have several different permits and registrations to be a gun owner in the state of Indiana. But the gun laws in Indiana state that you do not have to have a gun permit or licenses to purchase a firearm. You are an allowed to have a handgun, rifle, or shotgun in your home for protection without having a gun permit. If you looking to be able to carry your firearm in your vehicle or on your hip then you will need to obtain a gun carry permit. 

Looking to Sell or Transfer of Firearm

Are you looking to trade or sell your current firearm? You are allowed to sell with a permit but some people are off-limits to sell to. You cannot sell to anyone under the age of 18 years old.

A firearm can only be given to anyone under 18 years of age as a gift from their parents or guardian. It’s also illegal to sell to anyone who is a convicted felon, drug users, anyone who is intoxicated during purchase, a mental patient, and anyone else who is unfitting to be safe to handle a gun.

Sometimes it’s hard to tell whether a person is a convicted felony or not. Try to know someone background before making a sell or transfer because it can lead to legal problems down the line if that person commits a crime.

If you don’t feel comfortable about the sell don’t be scared to back away and find another buyer of your firearm. The same goes for different gun dealer and shops. They are required to run a NICS background check to make sure that person doesn’t have any serious background issues. 

Possession Regulations Gun Laws

Like stated before, in the state of Indiana you do not need a permit to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or handgun. This is not the case if you looking to carry your firearm outside of your home.

With the gun laws in Indiana, you would need a concealed carry permit to be able to carry without having to worry about getting into legal trouble. It is important to know the gun laws for individuals under the age of 18.

They are only allowed to have or shoot a firearm if they are hunting with adult supervision, shooting at a gun range or a certified target under adult supervision, or on a property owned by their parent and also viewed under adult supervision.

It’s important to know that even with a concealed carry permit, it is important to know that some gun laws say it is still illegal to enter certain places with a firearm. These places include school property, post offices, airports, hospitals, state fairs, and other gun-free zones. 

Gun Laws For Illegal Firearms in Indiana

In the state of Indiana, it is important to know that certain guns are illegal to have in your possession. Indiana gun laws state that the following weapons are not allowed. These weapons include Armor-piercing handgun, Machine gun, Armor-piercing ammunition, and Sawed-off shotgun.

Having these firearms in your possession will go against Indiana gun laws. This can result in a lengthy prison sentence and several fines. Here at Hayes Law Office, we try our best to make sure you are aware of the different gun laws in the state of Indiana.

If you or a loved one have been charged with an illegal firearm charge, contact out Firearm Defense Attorney today. For example, if you have possession of a machine gun or a sawed-off shotgun then you could be facing a Class C or Class D felony. This can result in a sentence between 2-10 years in prison depending on your charge. 

Carrying Limits Gun Laws

In Indiana, you need to be aware of the gun laws when it comes to moving the weapon from one place to another. If you have concealed carry permit you are allowed to carry your weapon in your vehicle without having to worry about legal troubles.

If you do not have a gun permit and you are trying to transport your firearm to a local shooting range or your private property then your weapon needs to be unloaded and securely wrapped up.

You do not need a license to carry your firearm to your business or personal property if your weapon is unloaded. If you have been charged with a firearm defense charge and you feel like you were in the right. Give our Firearm Defense Attorneys a call today for a free consultation. 

Categories

Contact Us Today

Put a Hard-Hitting
Legal Firm on Your Side
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.